UP38 final photo PR.jpg

Ambassador Evan P. Garcia, Philippine Permanent Representative to the United Nations in Geneva, constructively engages with countries during the Universal Periodic Review


14 May 2021, Geneva, Switzerland - At the 38th Session of the Universal Periodic Review (UPR) Working Group which was held from 3 to 14 May 2021, the Philippines highlighted the need to step up efforts and strengthen measures to further protect the human rights especially of the vulnerable groups.

Ambassador Evan P. Garcia, Philippine Permanent Representative to the United Nations in Geneva welcomed, among others, the efforts made by States under review to pursue technical cooperation and capacity-building programs on human rights and encouraged further constructive work in this regard.

He cited that the Philippines had provided the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights this year with a modest voluntary contribution in order to support concrete technical cooperation programs at the country level as well as assist requesting States with the implementation of the recommendations arising from the Universal Periodic Review.

Ambassador Garcia underlined the importance accorded by the Philippines to the Universal Periodic Review as a unique, constructive and regular platform for reviewing the human rights records of all UN member states. The State-driven process under the auspices of the Human Rights Council also provides an opportunity for all States to provide information on actions they have taken to improve the human rights situation in their countries and to share good practices.

Among the recommendations made by the Philippines during the 38th Session are those relating to strengthening of measures against gender-based violence, human trafficking, promoting gender mainstreaming, human rights education and training, the advancement of the human rights of vulnerable sectors, and encouraging the ratification of treaties and conventions such as on migrant and domestic workers, among others.

The countries reviewed in the session were Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Palau, Paraguay, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, and Somalia.